Ir Arriba

IICA Chair

The “IICA Chair” program was created with the conviction that agriculture should be an activity that provides opportunities and drives progress. It also aims to highlight contributions within specific fields of study, promoting and fostering new knowledge about agriculture and rural development in the Americas.

The “IICA Chair” program is part of the Institute’s efforts to recraft its technical cooperation model and modernize its administration, in order to restructure and effectively utilize its technical capacity to play a key role in the development of the Hemisphere and to fully capitalize on the Institute’s role as a bridge between available knowledge and the existing demand, while always seeking to provide innovative solutions for rural territories.

  • Gabriela Olmedo

    IICA Chair in Biotechnology and Innovation

    For her contributions to promoting access to the new knowledge frontier thanks to her commitment to education and scientific dissemination.

    A researcher in the field of Genetic Engineering and Molecular Biology, Olmedo is the first woman to direct the Center for Research and Advanced Studies (CINVESTAV) of the National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico. Her studies have supported biotechnological developments in agriculture, such as biofertilizers.

  • Raquel Chan

    IICA Chair in Biotechnology and Sustainable Development

    For her contribution to strengthening national science and technology systems.

    A biochemist specializing in plant biotechnology, Chan is a tenured professor at Universidad Nacional del Litoral (Argentina). She holds a doctoral degree from the National University of Rosario (UNR). An expert in Molecular Biology, she led the development of the HB4 gene, which comes from sunflowers and provides wheat and soybeans with greater tolerance to droughts.

  • David Zilberman

    IICA Chair in Bioeconomy and Sustainable Development

    In recognition of his leadership in building the concept of the bioeconomy as a vision for development.

    He is a professor in the Agricultural and Resource Economics Department at the University of California at Berkeley. His areas of expertise include agricultural and environmental policy, the economics of innovation, biotechnology and climate change.

  • Rattan Lal

    IICA Chair in Soil Sciences

    In recognition of his contributions to research on climate resilient agriculture, soil carbon sequestration, sustainable intensification, the efficient use of agroecosystems, sustainable management of tropical soils and soil health.

    2020 World Food Prize winner, distinguished Professor of Soil Sciences and Director of the Carbon Management and Sequestration Center of Ohio State University

  • Roberto Rodrigues

    IICA Chair in Agribusiness

    In recognition of his contribution to scientific knowledge and the resolution of agricultural obstacles that hinder sustainable development in the Americas

    A Brazilian national, Rodrigues is the Coordinator of the Agribusiness Center of the Getúlio Vargas Foundation and IICA Chair in Agribusiness at the “Luiz de Queiroz” School of Agriculture of the University of Sao Paulo (ESALQ-USP). He holds an honorary doctorate from São Paulo State University (UNESP). Among other high-level positions, he served as Minister of Agriculture, Livestock and Supply (2003-2006) of Brazil. He has created numerous intellectual products related to agriculture, cooperative undertakings and the rural economy.